Back to School.

Drew, SAS Delish 2.jpg

Porter ArtDrew, SAS Delish.jpg

SAS Mod Podge

Photo Aug 21, 11 49 49 AM

My very most favorite season is soon to be upon us. Back to school signals cooler temperatures, football, chili cooking on the stove-top, and in my opinion, the prettiest of the Midwestern landscapes, the changing autumn leaves. It is no secret that I also love a good back to school shopping trip!

We all have special memories from childhood. One of my favorite childhood memories was an annual back to school shopping trip with my mom. It was nothing extravagant, but each year I would look forward to this special outing with my mother. I would get to pick out a couple new outfits, one new pair of shoes, and we would always eat out for lunch. For the first time, the kids and I all four went back to school shopping together. The boys are getting to the age that they have a definite opinion on what they want to wear and although my boys do not enjoy clothes shopping, they do enjoy buying new school supplies. This year we started our own back to school tradition with school shopping in the morning followed by lunch and a trip to our favorite local bakery, Delish, pictured above. Delish is like stepping back in time to an era when people baked everything from scratch. There is nothing processed, pre-made, or frozen. Check them out next time you are in downtown St. Joseph and while you are there, make sure to hit locally owned, Mod Podge Boutique and Design Studio, located right next door. Mod Podge has a little something for everyone, including the kids.

Happy shopping…and of course, happy back to school!

Cheers,

Sara

Latest fashion finds:

The boys. Both Porter and Drew are wearing shoes by Toms. Toms have become a childhood staple at our house because they are super easy for the kid’s to slip off and on and are always comfortable and also good quality. Both boys are also wearing Levi 501 jeans. Drew has on the slim fit version and Porter has on the classic fit. Levi’s are all I have every known my dad to wear and I guess you could say that I am a daddy’s girl. Levi’s are timeless, they wash well and hold up under the pressures of boyhood. Drew is wearing a Harper Canyon t- shirt, sold at Nordstrom. Porter is wearing a Tucker + Tate t-shirt, also sold at Nordstrom. Tucker + Tate is reasonably priced and comes in many styles based on size and shape.

Scarlett…Scarlett is wearing a two piece skirt and top made by MIM-PI. I absolutely love this entire clothing line for little girls. It is a sporty look with a girly-flair. I found this particular outfit at Kid Oh!, a division of Halls Department Store, located on the second floor of Crown Center. Scarlett is wearing a pair of boots by Toms. I purchased this pair of Toms on Amazon but they can also be found at Nordstrom online!

Leave a Reply

