Easy 3 Step Banana Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

photo-oct-24-12-18-20-pmI have a passion for cooking. One of the reasons I take such delight in cooking is because I find it extremely therapeutic. Someone is sick? Go in the kitchen at 5 am and cook enough food to feed two armies. Hot,homemade food just makes everything better! When I feel helpless, I cook. When I feel stressed, I cook! I am sure this joy stems from my childhood. I delight in feeding people. Growing up, feeding people in my family was a sign of love. You need not always be hungry, to eat. Sit down! Have a little “snack” of spaghetti with meatballs!

Having said that, cooking and baking are like apples and oranges in my world. I cannot adequately bake a pan of brownies from a box. My kids birthday cakes are always from the bakery. I guess what I am trying to say is that when I find a bakery recipe that I can master with ease, it is worth sharing. What mom does not want their children to remember warm cookies made from scratch? Here is one amazing recipe, ladies!

What you need:

cookie-1

2-3 overly ripened bananas

3 tbsp chocolate chips

1 cup of oats

Preparation Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 360 degrees.
  2. Mash your ripened bananas with a potato masher. Mix in the oats.
  3. Add the chocolate chips (Confession-the recipe calls for 3 tbsp. I accidentally allow a few more chips to fall into my personal recipe. You be the judge.).
  4. Put a spoon-ful of batter on a cookie tray lined with parchment paper.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes.

Tip-the more banana you add, the more moist your cookies. I prefer three bananas and they must be ripened! I like to make these cookies when I have bananas on hand that are about to go bad. I almost always keep oats and chocolate chips in my pantry making these a spectacular snow day cookie recipe as well.

Tip-If you are watching your family’s sugar intake, substitute 3 tbsp raisins for chocolate chips.

Tip-If you want to serve these cookies as a high protein breakfast, substitute 3 tbsp walnuts instead of chocolate chips.

Cookie 3.jpg

Your kids will love them… and you will feel like Paula Dean. Winning!

Cheers,

Saraphoto-oct-24-12-18-20-pm

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

