Blaque Label Breaks All Holiday-Comfort Style Rules

black-label-1black-label-6Black label 7.jpg

black-label-9

This season I am going to break all the holiday party rules by dressing in easy comfort. My first 2016 holiday party rule offender is this luxe dress by Los Angeles designer, Blaque Label. Later in the month, once the temperatures finally drop, I am going to pair this frock with black tights. There will be no fuss, no need for constricting spanx, and no requirement to pass on the cocktail party hor d’oeuvres.

I am in love with this season’s rich wine color. While red enough to still be considered festive, this color is a welcome change from the traditional holiday reds.

The black taffeta ruffle along the bottom of this one-piece garment is on par with this season’s tiered ruffle theme–adding extra style to this seemingly simple piece. I also appreciate the long sleeves and mock turtleneck.  The weather this mid-November is still warm. However, the first frost of the year was last Saturday and I was reminded just how chilly thirty two degrees actually feels…especially if you are not dressed accordingly!

For an added dose of bling, I plan to drape a fur capelet around my top half. Maybe I will add an antique brooch or other decorative piece of costume jewelry.

Last week, on a sunny and still-seventies fall day, I opted to wear this dress sans tights…with my new work tote by Rebecca Minkoff. This tote is the perfect size for a couple of legal-size notepads and will also hold an iPad.

Handbag: The Rebecca Minkoff Sisley Tote in Grey Leopard

black-label-3

Happy Monday, all!

Cheers,

Sara

Leave a Reply

